Want To Meditate But Just Cannot?

Like me, you might be doing it wrong.

Sangeeta Marwah, PhD
5 min readDec 18, 2020
Photo by David Brooke Martin on Unsplash

Every time I hear the word ‘meditation’, my mind conjures up a tranquil setting, all neutrals and whites, a silhouette framed against the dewy morning light, sitting up tall in a restful meditative stance, eyes closed in blissful harmony, the whole image radiating serenity.

My own meditation practice couldn’t be more different.

It typically goes like this:

I sit cross-legged on my bed. Not straight enough, I think. So I sit up taller. My back protests. I try ignore it.

I focus on nothingness. My mind laughs in response, and throws a quick thought at me.

I forgot to add eggs to the grocery order.

Damn.

Never mind. Focus, I sternly tell myself. Concentrate on breathing. I focus on the air filling my nostrils, exhale slowly.

My ear itches.

Do not scratch. Do not break the stillness.

Back to focusing on my breath.

It takes all of 1.09 seconds for my dormant thoughts to rush in, like a Black Friday crowd impatiently waiting to enter a Walmart.

Why was mom sounding different on the phone today?

--

--